Workshop Description

Bytecode, such as produced by e.g. Java and .NET compilers, has become an important topic of interest, both for industry and academia. The industrial interest stems from the fact that bytecode is typically used for Internet and mobile devices (smart-cards, phones, etc.) applications, where security is a major issue. Moreover, bytecode is device-independent and allows dynamic loading of classes, which provides an extra challenge for the application of formal methods. In addition, the unstructuredness of the code and the pervasive presence of the operand stack also provide extra challenges for the analysis of bytecode. This workshop will focus on theoretical and practical aspects of semantics, verification, analysis, certification and transformation of bytecode.


09:15 Welcome
09:30 Invited Speaker: Bart Jacobs (KU Leuven)
VeriFast: A Powerful, Fast, Sound, Predictable Verifier for C and Java
10:30 coffee break
11:00 Aibek Sarimbekov, Philippe Moret, Walter Binder, Andreas Sewe, and Mira Mezini
Complete and Platform-independent Calling Context Profiling for the Java Virtual Machine
11:30 David Pearce and James Noble
Implementing Whiley on the JVM
12:00 Jiin Park, Jinhyung Park, Wonjoon Song, Sungwook Yoon, Bernd Burgstaller, and Bernhard Scholz
Treegraph-based instruction scheduling for stack-based virtual machines
12:30 lunch
14:30 Diego Esteban Alonso Blas, Puri Arenas, and Samir Genaim
Handling non-linear operations in the value analysis of COSTA
15:00 Kenneth MacKenzie and Damon Fenacci
Static Resource Analysis for Java Bytecode Using Amortisation and Separation Logic
15:30 Kari Kähkönen, Tuomas Launiainen, Olli Saarikivi, Janne Kauttio, Keijo Heljanko, and Ilkka Niemelä
LCT: An Open Source Concolic Testing Tool for Java Programs (Tool Paper)
16:00 coffee break
16:30 Invited Speaker: Todd Mytkowicz (Microsoft Research)
Bytecode at Microsoft Research


The ETAPS proceedings are available. The ENTCS proceedings will be published soon.

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission deadline:
  • December 25, 2010
  • Paper submission deadline:
  • December 25, 2010
  • Author notification:
  • January 21, 2011
  • Camera-ready paper versions due:
  • February 8, 2011

    Call For Papers



    Paper should be submitted through the easy chair page.

    Program Committee

    • Pierre Ganty (co-chair), the IMDEA Software Institute, Spain
    • Mark Marron (co-chair), the IMDEA Software Institute, Spain
    • David Pichardie, INRIA Rennes, France
    • Dejvuth Suwimonteerabuth, King Mongkut's University of Technology, Thailand
    • Samir Genaim, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
    • Elvira Albert, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
    • Fausto Spoto, University of Verona, Italy
    • Francesco Logozzo, Microsoft Research, USA
    • Michael Emmi, LIAFA, France
    • Darko Stefanovic, University of New Mexico, USA