20th European Symposium on Programming

Saarbrücken, Germany


Accepted papers
Call for Papers
Important Dates
Invited Speaker
Programme Committee
Steering Committee
ETAPS 2010


Conference Description

ESOP is a member conference of the European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software (ETAPS), which is the primary European forum for academic and industrial researchers working on topics relating to Software Science. ETAPS 2011 is the 14th joint conference in this series.

The prior conferences have been ETAPS 1998 in Lisbon, ETAPS 1999 in Amsterdam, ETAPS 2000 in Berlin, ETAPS 2001 in Genova, ETAPS 2002 in Grenoble, ETAPS 2003 in Warsaw, ETAPS 2004 in Barcelona, ETAPS 2005 in Edinburgh, ETAPS 2006 in Vienna, ETAPS 2007 in Braga, and ETAPS 2008 in Budapest, ETAPS 2009 in York, UK, and ETAPS 2010 in Paphos, Cyprus.


Call for Papers

ESOP is an annual conference devoted to fundamental issues in the specification, design, analysis, and implementation of programming languages and systems. ESOP 2011 is the twentieth edition in this series and seeks contributions on all aspects of programming language research including, but not limited to, the following areas:

  • Programming paradigms and styles: functional programming, aspect-oriented programming, object-oriented programming, logic programming, constraint programming, extensible programming languages, domain-specific languages, biologically-inspired languages, synchronous and real-time programming languages.
  • Methods and tools to write, reason about, and specify languages and programs: module systems, programming techniques, meta programming, type systems, logical foundations, denotational semantics, operational semantics, program verification, static analysis, testing, language-based security.
  • Methods and tools for implementation: rewriting systems, program transformations, partial evaluation, experimental evaluations, virtual machines, intermediate languages, run-time environments.
  • Concurrency and distribution: parallel programming, process algebras, concurrency theory, service-oriented computing, distributed and mobile languages.


Rebuttal phase

Authors will be given a 60-hours period (from Monday, November 22) to read and respond to the reviews of their papers before the PC meeting.


Submission Guidelines

Papers must be written in English, unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere. The proceedings will be published in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Final papers will be in the format specified by Springer-Verlag in this page.

Submissions must be in PDF format, formatted in the LNCS style and be at most 20 pages long. Additional material, that is not to be included in the final version, but may help assessing the merits of the submission - for example details of proofs - may be placed in a clearly marked appendix that is not included in the page limit. ETAPS referees are at liberty to ignore appendices, and papers must be understandable without them.

Papers can be sumitted via the following submission page.


Important Dates

  • Monday, 4 October 2010: Abstract submission deadline (postponed from Oct. 1);
  • Friday, 8 October 2010: Paper submission deadline;
  • Monday, 22 November 2010: Start of author response period;
  • Friday, 10 December 2010: Author notification;
  • Monday, 3 January 2011: Camera-ready paper versions due
The submission deadline for papers is strict (site will close at 23:59 Samoan time). Submission of an abstract implies no obligation to submit a full version; abstracts with no corresponding full versions by the full paper deadline will be considered as withdrawn.


Invited Speaker

Andrew Appel, Princeton University.


Programme Committee

Chair: Gilles Barthe, Madrid Institute of Advanced Studies in Software (Spain)


Steering Committee

Chair: Chris Hankin, U.K.

  • Giuseppe Castagna
  • Pierpaolo Degano
  • Andrew Gordon
  • Neil Jones
  • Daniel Le Metayer
  • Alan Mycroft
  • Hanne Riis Nielson
  • Bengt Nordström
  • David Sands
  • David Schmidt
  • Gert Smolka
  • Doaitse Swierstra
    The Netherlands
  • Reinhard Wilhelm